University of Wisconsin–Madison

Who We Are

The Division of Student Life comprises departments that share a common mission and vision as well as strategic priorities. The division’s efforts are grounded in the guiding principles of: scholarly pursuits, inclusivity, self-discovery, citizenship, and social justice. The interconnecting values, strategic priorities, mission and vision are further strengthened within the context of the university’s Essential Learning Outcomes and Campus Strategic Framework.

More than 100 professional and 400 student staff, working across nine departments, dedicate themselves to helping students succeed both in and out of the classroom. The following staff members comprise the leadership team in our division.

Learn more about us: Division of Student Life 2016-17 Report

  • Mission

    To cultivate a Wisconsin Experience for all students that advances and interconnects their academic, professional, personal, and social development.

  • Vision

    A campus community where students are inspired and prepared to live the Wisconsin Idea.

  • Strategic Priorities

    The Division of Student Life is focusing energy on five priorities during the next four years (2015-2019).

    1. Increase the university’s capacity to educate and support students through sustained partnerships.
    2. Increase student cultural competency through coordinated educational initiatives and skill-based trainings.
    3. Increase student action on personal, social, and civic responsibilities by connecting them to opportunities for meaningful involvement
    4. Increase student resilience by educating on self-advocacy and well-being.
    5. Increase student application of their Wisconsin Experience to career aspirations through integrative reflection.

Central Leadership Team

Lori Berquam

Vice Provost for Student Life and Dean of Students

lori.berquam@wisc.edu

Argyle Wade

Chief of Staff, Assistant Vice Provost and Associate Dean of Students

argyle.wade@wisc.edu

Kevin Helmkamp

Assistant Vice Provost and Associate Dean of Students

kevin.helmkamp@wisc.edu

Divisional Leadership Team/Assistant Deans

Katherine Charek Briggs

Interim Assistant Dean and Director, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Campus Center

katherine.charekbriggs@wisc.edu

Joanna Gurstelle

Assistant Dean and Director, Staff and Programs in Associated Students of Madison

joanna.gurstelle@wisc.edu

Gabe Javier

Assistant Dean and Director, Multicultural Student Center

gabe.javier@wisc.edu

Eric Knueve

Assistant Dean and Director, Center for Leadership and Involvement

eric.knueve@wisc.edu

Kathy Kruse

Assistant Dean and Director, Dean of Students Office

kathy.kruse@wisc.edu

Mari Magler

Assistant Dean and Director, McBurney Disability Resource Center

mari.magler@wisc.edu

Carren Martin

Assistant Dean and Director, Center for the First-Year Experience

carren.martin@wisc.edu

Roopa Rawjee

Assistant Dean and Director, International Student Services

roopa.rawjee@wisc.edu

Tonya Schmidt

Assistant Dean and Director, Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards

tonya.schmidt@wisc.edu

Central Administration

Ida Balderrama-Trudell

Special Assistant to the Vice Provost & Dean of Students

ida.balderramatrudell@wisc.edu

Sue Duhr

Senior Financial Officer

sue.duhr@wisc.edu

Kathy Kuno

Executive Assistant to the Vice Provost

kathy.kuno@wisc.edu

Diane Steele

Human Resources Manager

diane.steele@wisc.edu

Ning Sun

Program Assistant, Student Life Assessment

ning.sun@wisc.edu