Who We Are

Student Life comprises departments that share a common mission and vision as well as strategic priorities. Our efforts are grounded in the guiding principles of: scholarly pursuits, inclusivity, self-discovery, citizenship, and social justice. The interconnecting values, strategic priorities, mission and vision are further strengthened within the context of the university’s Essential Learning Outcomes and Campus Strategic Framework.

We are dedicated to helping students succeed both in and out of the classroom. The following staff members comprise the leadership team.

Learn More about our departments.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Vision

A campus community where students are inspired and prepared to live out their own (and unique) Wisconsin Experience.

Mission

To cultivate a Wisconsin Experience for all students that advances and interconnects their academic, professional, personal, and social development.

Strategic Priorities

Student Life is focusing energy on five priorities during the next four years (2015-2019).

  1. Increase the university’s capacity to educate and support students through sustained partnerships.
  2. Increase student cultural competency through coordinated educational initiatives and skill-based trainings.
  3. Increase student action on personal, social, and civic responsibilities by connecting them to opportunities for meaningful involvement
  4. Increase student resilience by educating on self-advocacy and well-being.
  5. Increase student application of their Wisconsin Experience to career aspirations through integrative reflection.

Social Media

Leadership Team

Ida Balderrama-Trudell

Interim Assistant Dean & Director Multicultural Student Center (MSC)

ida.balderramatrudell@wisc.edu

(608) 890-2754

Stephanie Benson-Gonzales

Associate Director, Family Programs and Communications

stephanie.bensongonzales@wisc.edu

(608) 262-7936

Sue Duhr

Budget and Finance Manager

sue.duhr@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5707

Joanna Gurstelle

Assistant Dean and Director, Staff and Programs in Associated Students of Madison

joanna.gurstelle@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5272

Gabe Javier

Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, Identity and Inclusion

gabe.javier@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0285

Kate Kaminski

Human Resources Manager

kate.kaminski@wisc.edu

(608) 261-1508

Kathy Kruse

Assistant Dean and Director, Dean of Students Office

kathy.kruse@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5700

Kathy Kuno

Executive Assistant

kathy.kuno@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5702

Mari Magler

Assistant Dean and Director, McBurney Disability Resource Center

mari.magler@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5174

Carren Martin

Assistant Dean and Director, Center for the First-Year Experience

carren.martin@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0363

Samantha McCabe

Interim Assistant Dean and Director, International Student Services

samantha.mccabe@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5113

Elizabeth Paice

Interim Chief of Staff

epaice@wisc.edu

(608) 263-3436

Joe Rasmussen

Veteran Services Coordinator

joe.rasmussen@wisc.edu

608-265-4628

Warren Scherer

Assistant Dean and Director, Gender & Sexuality Campus Center

warren.scherer@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3344

Tonya Schmidt

Assistant Dean and Director, Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards

tonya.schmidt@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5700

Darcy Wittberger

Director of Communications

darcy.wittberger@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0925