In Memoriam: Remembering Our Badgers

Twenty-five Badgers will be honored this year in a campus memorial celebration beginning at UW’s Carillon Bell Tower on April 29 at 11 a.m.

The memorial event, hosted by the Dean of Students Office in Student Affairs, is for families, friends, and loved ones to join in community and celebrate each life and legacy.

Chief of Staff for Student Affairs Argyle Wade and Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Karl Scholz will share remarks at the event, followed by a melody on the Carillon Bells in special tribute to each student. The group will then spend time at the Storytelling Circle at Muir Knoll, where they will remember each student by name and share a pause for reflection. 

The time together will conclude with a private reception with close family and loved ones, providing an opportunity to build community with other families experiencing similar loss. 

“We will hold each student in our hearts and in our minds.” Dean of Students Christina Olstad shared. “Each student had an impact on the university, their friends, and family members, and we are grateful for the time they were with us. Each left a unique legacy, and we will continue to honor, remember, and celebrate our Badgers. Every one of these twenty-five students will be missed by family members, friends, and the UW–Madison community.

In honor of our Badgers who died between May 2019 through March 2022: 

Andrew Alsteen, Wisconsin 

Charles Burton, Wisconsin

David Darling, Illinois 

Benjamin Dirstine, Washington 

Keith Fitzgerald, Arizona

Arden Jiaxin He, Wisconsin

Nicholas Humphrey, Illinois 

Joshua Immke, Illinois 

Jingfei Jin, China 

Joseph Kraft, Wisconsin

Ethan Larsen, Wisconsin 

Michael Lugo, Florida 

Zhan Luo, China 

Josh McMahon, Missouri

Noah Mroz, Wisconsin

Steven Oreck, Wisconsin

Matthew Pearson, Wisconsin 

Brian Peck, Illinois 

Landis Phillips-Warner, Wisconsin

Myles Porter, Wisconsin 

Nicole Reynolds, Wisconsin 

Natalie Schaefer, Wisconsin 

Marcus Sellars, Minnesota

Bella Sobah, Wisconsin 

Myles Turner, New York